Share Your Pride!

If you were trained as a resident or worked on staff at Lahey Hospital & Medical Center, you questioned, innovated and kept patient care at the center of your work.

Our top priority is to provide stipends for LHMC residents and fellows to further their education and grow into the confident, expert doctors that our patients deserve. We also fund grand rounds, support the Richard B. Cattell Library and host an annual summer social event for current residents and alumni. Your participation in the Alumni Association reflects your commitment to support our upcoming Lahey-trained residents’ journey to practice medicine as your colleagues. Today’s Alumni Association boasts more than 3,400 physicians. We hope to see you at one of our events soon!

Meet Steven Sain, MD, Chair of the Department of Surgery

Steven Stain, MD has known fellow surgeons who practiced at Lahey Hospital & Medical Center for many years. And he knew Lahey’s reputation for surgical excellence and focus on patients, first and foremost. While stepping into the academic medical center that has been home to giants of surgery since Lahey Clinic was founded, he is focusing on opportunities to elevate Lahey nationally. Dr. Stain joined LHMC in January 2021 as Chair of the Department of Surgery, ready to apply his expertise to the department and Lahey’s leadership team. Read more

Meet Chief Academic Officer Anne Mosenthal, MD, FACS

Just as the COVID-19 pandemic was taking hold in March 2020, Anne Mosenthal, MD, FACS joined Lahey as chief academic officer to direct Lahey’s education and research efforts across all medical specialties. To say she hit the ground running would be an understatement. “My first six months showed me what Lahey is capable of,” said Dr. Mosenthal. “Today, I see endless possibilities in our future.” Read more



Residency Spotlight: Internal Medicine

Building Spectacular Clinical Excellence at the Bedside: Rooted firmly in Dr. Lahey’s surgical legacy, Lahey Hospital & Medical Center’s Internal Medicine Residency offers a unique blend of rigorous training and  personal attention in a busy tertiary medical center.
(Note: Image pre-dates COVID pandemic.)   Read more



In Memoriam

Updated November 2, 2021

James Dargin, MD, a much-beloved critical care physician and medical intensive care unit leader. Dr. Dargin passed away unexpectedly at the end of October. Read full obituary.

Warren G. Hunt, one of the founding members of Lahey Clinic Northshore, Peabody, known today As Lahey Medical Center, Peabody.

John Gawoski, MD, who has been on staff in the Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine for the past 34 years. He passed away on Dec. 24, 2020.

John J. Murray, MD, long-time member of the Division of Colon and Rectal Surgery. Read a Lahey remembrance of Dr. Murray here.

Stephanie Burns, RN, Lahey’s longest tenured nurse who worked until the time of her unexpected passing as the Nurse Clinical Coordinator for the Hansen’s Disease Clinic at LHMC.

Jana Hudcova, MD, a member of the Division of Surgical Critical Care and an attending physician in the Surgical Intensive Care Unit at Lahey Hospital & Medical Center for the past 12 years.

John F. Bresette, MD., long-time member of the Department of Urology and chief of the continence Center for 13 years.

Peter Oliver, MD, career-long member of the Department of Otolaryngology and department chair for 10 years.

Dr. Pierre Forgacs, founder of the Lahey Infectious Diseases division. Dr. Forgacs enjoyed a long career as a doctor at Lahey, where he was a leader in the field of Infectious Diseases. He lectured at Harvard Medical School and published articles on meningitis, tuberculosis and other infectious diseases.

David J. Bryan, MD, a highly regarded plastic and reconstructive surgeon who practiced at Lahey for more than 30 years. He was adored by his patients and colleagues alike, and in addition to his clinical practice Dr. Bryan was a dedicated educator, leading several research fellowships focused on cellular, tissue, and organ culture and peripheral nerve regeneration.

Frederick McAlpine, MD, chaired department of anesthesia. Retired in 2005 after 45 years at Lahey

Pauline Katz, worked as Alumni Office Coordinator for Lahey Clinic for 23 years

Dr. Morton G. Miller, chaired Department of Psychiatry at the Lahey Clinic