Training the Next Generation of Physician-Scientists

Fellowship to expand Lahey’s residency programs

Patients revered David James Bryan, MD, for his care and compassion. Peers and trainees sought him out for his skill and expertise during his 30-year career. Now a generous family has honored his memory and distinguished career.

Arthur, Sandra and Sarah Irving of New Brunswick, Canada, made a $2.2 million gift this summer to Lahey Hospital & Medical Center to endow a surgical fellowship in memory of Dr. Bryan, who died in 2018.

“We treasured our long relationship with David over the years and are so grateful for the wonderful care and friendship he provided,” said Sandra Irving. “His exceptional diagnostic and surgical skills, his passion for research and his extraordinary commitment to the men and women he trained will long be remembered. We hope the Bryan Fellowship will help other promising physicians build a legacy every bit as distinguished as his.”

Dr. Bryan was a highly regarded board-certified plastic and reconstructive surgeon and researcher — and he was passionate about mentoring and training the next generation of physician-scientists.

Lahey’s surgical residency is known nationally as a nurturing and clinically outstanding training program with an enviable track record of achievement. Lahey surgical residents consistently score highest among their peers in the annual “Top Gun” competition, which tests skills among aspiring surgeons training at an elite group of hospitals.

Dedicated to Lahey

Dr. Bryan was an astute diagnostician, expert surgeon, and researcher, teacher and mentor. In addition to his unequivocal devotion to patient care, he was dedicated to Lahey’s research and education mission in countless ways. He ran a research laboratory focused on wound healing and he developed and oversaw research fellowships in cellular, tissue, and organ culture, and peripheral nerve regeneration.

Dr. Bryan was an active member of the board of Lahey’s Robert E. Wise, MD, Research and Education Institute and he served for years as vice-chair of the hospital’s Institutional Review Board (IRB), which is charged with protecting the rights and welfare of patients participating in clinical studies.

In addition to the Bryan Fellowship, the Irvings endowed the H. Royden Jones, Jr., MD, Chair in Neuroscience at Lahey Hospital & Medical Center in 2015.